Use Your Fruit

When a house of two becomes a house of one, eating everything when it is in pristine condition is difficult. As I was cleaning out the fridge drawers the other day I found blueberries, nectarines, peaches, strawberries, and cherries wilting away. So, in order to save them all, I made two different syrups. Blueberry with lemon juice and cherry balsamic vinegar and a peach, nectarine, cherry and strawberry with lemon, brown sugar, and some sparkling blood orange juice. I put the cooked down fruit in a china cap and pushed all the juice and cooked down fruit back in the sauce pan. Back on the stove for 15 minutes and at the very end add a tbs. of butter to smooth it out and add richness. Keeps in the fridge, or can be frozen.
Pancakes this weekend are going to be very special. give your wrinkled fruit another chance and give yourself some serious goodness.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

