Go Slow….

When you work in a restaurant kitchen it is always a mad dash. Hurry up and prep…. work fast to get food to the diners… it’s like a bee hive. Everyone doing what is needed to make it a successful night.

I loved those days, but now, I am glad that I can cook at a slower pace. I can take my time. I can chop and prep with an intent of purpose, not with an intent to beat the clock. I can saute, and fry and bake at my pace, not hurrying unless I want to. I like this new way of cooking.

The other day I was chopping herbs and garlic for a chicken dish I have been working on. I started out chopping so fast, like I had five minutes left before the start of dinner service. I realized what I was doing, my little zen voice telling me that I could slow down, that I could chop and let myself think about the dish I was trying to create. I am working on the being more mindful in my cooking now. Trying be in that place where I can hear my thoughts and feel the love I am trying to put in the food I make. It is something new to an old dog like me who has hurried through too many nights in the belly of the beast known as a restaurant kitchen.

Some may say that good art comes from frenzied moments, and that may be true, but for me, right now, I am looking for that quiet happy place where my culinary creativity can shine. I don’t have to keep a busy restaurant kitchen pace anymore. I don’t have to rush, or stress, or chastise cooks who are going to slow. In the new, zen, incarnation of me I can sip wine and pluck leaves of thyme off the stem. I can chop with quiet contemplation. I can dance to music that is the background to the palate I am trying to create if I like.

Cooking and eating are meant to feed both body and soul. I am of the opinion that the soul can’t get fed if the cooking is frantic. The frantic goes into the food. I am teaching myself to cook now from only the soul… one… mindful… chop or stir… at a time.

Next time you get ready to throw down in the kitchen, take a step back and let the zen take over. Put on some music, pour yourself your favorite libation and let the muse carry you while you create a meal that will feed you and the people who share the food with you in a peaceful, rich, wonderful way.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go Slow….

  1. I’m at the opposite end of the spectrum – I’m the one eating – but I realize even today how often I am shoveling food in my mouth just like I am on a limited lunch break rather than slowly savoring the taste, appearance and sheer pleasure of eating. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

