South Asian Anyone?

My desire to try making Indian influenced food came after doing some deep cleaning in depths of the pantry. I found something I did not remember I had. Sometime in the recent past, someone gave me an Indian spice kit that includes a Northern Indian Curry blend and a traditional Tandori mix. With the spices is something called Bombay Blitz Dry Rub. This rub, according to the label, turns into a glaze as the meat cooks. The kit also has Basmati and Himalayan Red rice. These, what I think will be gems, came from a company called http://www.urbanaccents.com/.

Here in Portland there are a plethora of schools where I could learn what I want to know. But, since I was a working chef and I am still a culinarian, I am going to do it on my own. In this tough economic time a bit of research on the internet, a shopping trip to any good grocery emporium, and a bit of time in the kitchen should make for a fine start to my tour without having to pay for an expensive class.

With this kit, I should be able to turn out something Padma Lakshmi would be proud to eat. Tomorrow, I will put the Tandori spice mix on some chicken and hope for a Bollywood style hit. With said chicken breast, I will cook the red rice in some chicken stock and saute some bok choi rabe from the farmer’s market. It will be a meal full of healthy choices and that is never a bad thing. I will tell you how it all turns out.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

