What’s In Your Pantry?

Every cookbook gives you a list of the foods you should always keep on hand. By which they usually mean things like bottles of olive oil and vinegar.
But my recipe for good living involves a tiny bit more work.  Yes, I always have bacon, eggs, onions and butter in the house. And I’ve always got lemons, miso, soy sauce, sweet chile sauce, and Sirracha. There are always plenty of spices, New Mexico chile powders and dried chiles on hand too. But, my more serious staples mean that a meal is never more than minutes away. They include:
Homemade chicken stock: it is always in my freezer, ready to turn into soup, or to add to sauces. I have several varieties of rice and pastas on hand to add to said soups and sauces.
I keep fresh spinach, salad greens, and asparagus (when you can get it).
I have home canned tomatoes with basil and onions as a good marinara starter and an equally good base for true Italian gravy.
I keep pinto or black beans on hand as a pot is easy to whip up and will go a long way. I eat them with rice, roll them into a tortilla, or top them with a fried egg. It makes for a satisfying, healthy, filling meal.
In the summer, I keep tomatoes, jalapenos, cilantro, and sweet onions around constantly for whipping up salsa fresa.
Check your pantry and see what lives in there. Find recipes to go with the things you do have and cook up a storm. You never know what you might learn from the adventure.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

