Always something new…

So many of my friends and relations are going gluten free. Cooking for these folks is not comfortable for me. I am an old fashioned culinarian who learned to cook with flour, butter, oil, eggs, meat, and all those other fatty, now not good for you, ingredients. Ok, they aren’t not good for you, but with the American diet getting lighter and lighter every day, and people becoming aware of unhealthy practices, I have to learn new things.  Like how to make a crust for a quiche with rice flour and xanthan gum.
Xanthan gum is a “polysaccharide, derived from the bacterial coat of Xanthomonas campestris, used as a food additive and rheology modifier.” Yeah, I don’t understand it either.
I found a recipe at the Bob’s Red Mill Factory Store. It called for rice flour, said gum, salt, canola oil and cold water. After about ten minutes of working it together, and pressing it out in the bottom of the pan (the recipe says it is very hard to roll out) I pre-baked it, and then filled it with a traditional Quiche Lorraine filling, courtesy of Emeril Lagasse. Ok, I added some ham since it is Mother’s Day and I was cooking for my partner’s mother and sister and they are the ultimate meat lovers.

I was unsure as to the results, but if the fact that every piece got eaten is an indication as to the quality of the the crust and filling, it’s all good in the hood.

Crust: 3/4 c. white rice flour, 1/3 cup canola oil, 2 Tbs. cold water, 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum, 1/4 tsp salt.

Pre heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix together dry ingredients. Add oil and then enough water to get the dough to come together in a ball. Press into bottom and up the sides of 9 inch pie pan. Pre-bake the shell for 16 minutes and drain excess oil before filling.

Filling: 2 large eggs plus two egg yolks, 2 c. cooked and cubed smoked ham, 2 c. shredded gruyere cheese, 1 1/4 c. half and half, and 1/4 tsp. pepper.

Mix together eggs, yolks, half and half, and pepper. Pour into shell. Add cheese and then ham. Place the pie pan on a cookie sheet on the middle rack of the oven. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes until set in the middle. Let stand for five minutes before cutting into eight wedges.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Always something new…

  1. Sal says:

    Thanks for the info. I have a GF friend, and it is a cooking challenge! I have a good recipe for a GF pumpkin chocolate chip cake. Bought the xanthan gum, tapicoa flour, all kinds of crazy stuff from Bob’s Red Mill. Ended up giving her all the leftover ingredients-they are expensive! Glad Sue had a good meal for Mom’s day.

Leave a Reply

