Spring Time is Grill Time

With the weather here in the Willamette valley starting to look a little more like spring than the cold and wet of winter, people all over town are hauling out their grilling machines. To avoid the doldrums of hamburgers, hotdogs, and steaks try some whole turkey breast and fresh vegetables like asparagus.

I like to spice crust my meats rather than put them in a wet marinade. It causes less flare up and burning.

For my rubs I like heat, sweet, and salty. My favorite choices are red chile powder, brown sugar, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and some cumin. Fiery Southwestern flavors go way good with flame.

About jaicarney

I am a culinary artist, writer, dreamer and urban farmer dedicated to teaching people to eat and live well. I love my chickens, my garden, my friends, and this mother we call Earth.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

